Little and large: the smallest race car and one of the biggest four wheel drives share the early points lead in the 2017 Polaris Offroad Racing Championship.

Kingseat teen Jack Hellier in his tiny VW-powered single seater race car scored the maximum 72 points to lead his class and share the championship lead with Warren Adams in his somewhat larger Nissan Patrol V8.

Racing against Fergus Crabb and Boston Morgan-Horan, Hellier drove a canny event, focussing on his own race lines and avoiding the worst of the mudholes. His car is a one-of-a-kind single-seater with a VW 1.2-litre engine and has been outright national champion in past years in dad Wal Hellier’s hands.

Warren Adams, likewise, took maximum points with an unbroken string of class wins in his V8 engined Nissan Safari, racing against Tauranga’s Glen Raymond in a Bowler Tomcat V8. Both running in class six for ‘challenge’-class road registered four wheel drives, the pair made the most of four wheel drive, windscreens and windscreen wipers in the abysmal conditions.

The seven round series kicked off at Meremere on Sunday under the warm squalls of the Tasman Tempest with a record grid of 75 entries. The 1.2 km course is alongside the Waikato River and was altered to avoid rising flood water over the course of the weekend.

Even so, the HasTrak Challenger class chose to withdraw en masse from racing in the conditions and the decision was taken to postpone heats for the Kiwitruck youth category.

Class winners

In the unlimited race car class, Whangarei’s Jardyne Lammers took line honours; multiple champion Tony McCall went out in the first heat when he drove into a hole and smashed his front suspension. Defending champion Mike Fraser did not contest this round.

In the 12-strong HasTrak class 3 for cars with engines up to 1.6 litres defending class champion Brendon Midgely emerged the winner.

Waiuku’s Gerard Chitty, driving what is arguably his home event, won 4WD Bits class four for sports modified trucks and 4WDs ahead of seasoned racer Glenn Turvey of Wellington. Calvin McOnie went out when he crashed into a hole and injured his back. Racing was suspended while he was extricated from his truck and taken off the circuit by ambulance.

Regan Swensson emerged the winner in class five for cars with engines up to 1.3-litres. The class attracted its strongest entry in years, with nine cars gridding up for each heat.


Dale Buckley brought his imported ProLite race truck home to win the 4WD Bits unlimited truck class, his four cylinder truck defeatuing the big V8-engined versions of his rivals.


Gregg Carrington-Hogg brought his Chev-engined VW-styled car home first in class 9.


Dan Fromings was the sole entry in class 10 and ran with the Challenger VW class but came up short on points due to the decision by the Challenger drivers not to continue after their first heat.


Tim Ackers took top points in HasTrak Challenger VW but like Fromings ends up with just 24 points.


In the UTV classes, four wheel drive and big grids turned on some of the best racing of the day. Tauranga’s Dyson Delahunty won the U class for standard UTVs in his Polaris, while Joel Giddy won the JG Civil S class for modified UTVs.

Jack winner pic    warren winner pic

2017 Polaris New Zealand Offroad Racing Championship

Results, class by class, top three in each class

Class 1

160 Jardyne Lammers
150 John Morgan
163 Lance Cargill

HasTrak class 3

324 Brendon Midgley
333 Brendon Old
341 Andrew Green

4WD Bits class 4

405 Gerrard Chitty
457 Glenn Turvey
450 Rex Croskery

Class 5

545 Regan Swensson
507 Todd Graham
530 Taine Carrington

4WD Bits class 6

697 Warren Adams
603 Glen Raymond

Class 7

726 Jack Hellier
700 Fergus Crabb
789 Boston Morgan-Horan
4WD Bits class 8

825 Dale Buckley
861 Nick Hall
869 Jono Climo

Class 9

920 Gregg Carrington-Hogg
900 Maurice Bain917 Murray Kitt

Class 10

1062 Dan Fromings

HasTrak Challenger VW

C30 Tim Ackers
C01 Ricky May
C32 Karl Burbage

U class UTVs

U87 Dyson Delahunty
U14 Dion Edgecombe
U19 Kyle Van Harlingen

JG Civil S class modified UTVs

S16 Joel Giddy
S27 Phil Finlay
S1 Ben Thomasen

By |2018-03-05T22:55:52+00:00March 15th, 2017|Racing|Comments Off on MIGHTY TRUCK AND TINY RACE CAR EARLY LEADERS OF OFFROAD RACING