American-style short course offroad racing fires up at Colin Dale Park this weekend as the 2018 ORANZ New Zealand Offroad Racing Championship rolls into Manukau.


Local drivers Jack Hellier (Karaka), Nick Hall (Drury) and Tony McCall (Manukau) will be on track aiming to add to the points they won at the opening round a month ago, and to prevent their rivals from edging ahead in the title points battle. Hellier and McCall arrive at Colin Dale Park with the maximum 72 points; Hall on 70. The only other driver in the main categories with top points is new Challenger VW racer Mark Goldstone.

It is the first time the championship has raced on the new 1.2 km track being established by Counties Manukau Offroad Racing Club in a project led and championed by Kevin Hall. Extensive drainage and other work has been undertaken by Auckland Council and circuit design input has come from the club and Mr Hall. The course is visible from all spectator areas.

Top drivers are massing in the JG Civil-backed UTV category including current U-class leader and former northern champion Carl Ruiterman (Pukekohe), lightning-fast Dyson Delahunty (Tauranga), current S class leader Joel Giddy and Albany-based Hayden McKenzie. Defending champion Ben Thomasen (Tauranga) is close to the top of the points table as he seeks to repeat his 2017 title run.

Across the U (standard) and S (modified) UTV classes, there are now 14 entries; at the opening round last month in Taranaki the UTVs were almost half the 60-vehicle field. The UTV drivers will have one eye on the weather, with Met Service predictions for fine days they will be looking for overnight showers to reduce grip and give their light, agile vehicles the advantage.

Racing at Colin Dale Park is accessed from Prices Road, Manukau and gets under way at 10 am. Spectator admission is $10 per person; children under 12 are free.

Machinery Movers Ltd

Manukau short course

Leading entries to date: (car number/name)

Class 1

109                               Alan Hilliam, Dargaville

157                               Tony McCall, Manukau

196                               Justin Davies, Waiuku
197                               Tony Attwood, Auckland

Class 3

307                               Dean Graham, Hawkes Bay
333                               Brendon Old, Taranaki
363                               Lance Mitchell, Taranaki
367                               Jarrod Marwood, Auckland
381                               David Forsyth, Hawkes Bay
398                               Kevin Cooper, Karaka

4WD Bits class 4 – sports trucks

400                               Robert Cresswell, Taranaki

Class 5

507                               Todd Graham, Hawkes Bay
517                               Nick Magness, Auckland

545                               Regan Swensson, Auckland

Class 7

710                               Connor Nicklin, Auckland

726                               Jack Hellier, Karaka

4WD Bits class 8

825                               Dale Buckley, Auckland

861                               Nick Hall, Manukau

893                               Malcolm Langley, Whakatane

886                               Louis Carlyle, Maraetai

Class 10

1067                            Sam Atkins, Waikato

Challenger VW

C18                              Geoff Matich, Auckland

C21                              Ollie McCall, Manukau

C32                              Karl Burbage, Auckland

C84                              Ash Carlyle, Maraetai

C87                              Mark Goldstone, Tauranga


JG Civil UTV category – U class

U14                              Dion Edgecombe, Matamata

U31                              Shane McWatt, Auckland
U22                              Carl Ruiterman, Pukekohe
U72                              Scott Mitchell, Auckland
U36                              Leigh Bishop, Manukau
U43                              Brian Rutgers, Manukau

JG Civil UTV category –S class

S1                                 Ben Thomason Tauranga
NZ3                              Joel Giddy Whangarei
S17                               Nathan Moore Waikato
S66                               Rick Field, Taranaki
S98                               Haydn Mackenzie, Albany
S99                               Jake Field, Taranaki
S89                               Phil Johnston Manukau
S97                               Grant Sleeman, Manukau

Crabb Racing Kiwitruck youth category

J69                               Andre England, Auckland

J81                               Reeve Giddy, Whangarei

J321                             Lincoln Whiddett, Auckland

M12                             Harry Hodgson, Auckland

By |2018-04-19T16:10:07+00:00April 19th, 2018|Racing|Comments Off on OFFROAD RACING CHAMPIONSHIP ARRIVES AT MANUKAU