A change to the championship rules has enabled all racers to contest as many rounds of the championship as they like, taking their best three results to arrive at their final regional points position. The move is expected to boost grids at most of the six regional rounds. Dan Fisher of Nelson is also making the trip north.

Makarau made its championship debut in 2018 when a cyclone damaged the course for the Woodhill 100. It is a purpose-built race track running alongside an airstrip on a farm north-west of Auckland near Kaukapakapa.

The JG Civil UTV classes will put fourteen cars on the grid at Makarau: nine U class standard cars and five S class modified cars are entered.

In JG Civil U class the big news is the debut of the new Polaris single seater RZR RS1 racer at the hands of Tauranga’s Dyson Delahunty. He goes up against class regulars including Dion Edgecombe (Matamata), Leigh Bishop, Roger McKay, Scott Munro and Scott Mitchell. Defending national champion Carl Ruiterman returns to S class to go head to head with Polaris team racer Ben Thomasen, Joel Giddy (Silverdale), Trevor Cooper, Brian Rutgers and Grant Sleeman.

The 4WD Bits truck and 4WD category has attracted entries in the standard, modified and unlimited classes. Damion Gilberd won here last year and is the leading class 2 (production) entry; Warren Adams has entered his V8 Nissan in 4WD Bits class 6.

Nick Hall and Mal Langley are leading unlimited truck (class 8) entries. Brendon Old of Taranaki is one of the leading class three racers and leads a four-strong entry.

Class three caters for race cars with engines up to 1.6-litres.

The class five (cars with engines up to 1.3-litres) entry is also four-strong: Ben Howard, Taine Carrington, Nick Magness and Rodney Greenhorn.

Class seven for VW 1200 cars has one entry: Keegan Russell.

The VW Challenger class has two entries: Tim Ackers and Mark Goldstone.

Neil Hook is the sole entry in class ten for cars with motorcycle engines.

n the youth Kiwitruck class, there are five entries in the class (Junior) and one in the M
(Modified) class. The Kiwitrucks will race on a modified version of the main track.

Racing at 532 Burnside Road, Makarau starts at 10.00 am on Saturday 20 April.

Entry list

104 Don Preston
109 Alan Hilliam
112 Dan Fisher
130 Colin Meredith
140 Chris Whyte
145 Regan Swensson
157 Tony McCall
162 Dan Fromings
169 Paul Eayrs
170 Karl Fenton
197 Tony Attwood

207 Damon Gilberd

310 Connor Nicklin
333 Brendon Old
360 Geoff Matich
377 Mike Gibson

512 Rodney Greenhorn
517 Nick Magness
530 Taine Carrington
555 Ben Howard

697 Warren Adams

751 Keegan Russell
789 Boston Morgan-Horan

861 Nick Hall
893 Malcolm Langley

1005 Neil Hook

C30 Tim Ackers
C87 Mark Goldstone

S16 Joel Giddy
S20 Ben Thomasen
S22/NZ1 Carl Ruiterman
S43 Brian Rutgers
S89 Trevor Cooper
S97 Grant Sleeman

U14 Dion Edgecombe
U31 Shane McWatt
U36 Leigh Bishop
U48 Cole Glasgow
U66 Roger McKay
U72 Scott Mitchell
U83 Scott Munro
U87 Dyson Delahunty
U88 Mike Small/Phil Johnston

J34 Tanner Willetts
J51 Holly Russell
J81 Reeve Giddy
J95 Arron Crabb
J99 Dylan Buckley

M36 Matthew Bishop

By |2019-04-19T08:46:23+00:00April 19th, 2019|Racing|Comments Off on SOUTHERN RAIDERS HEAD NORTH FOR CHAMPIONSHIP OPENER AT MAKARAU